Criteria process

Work on developing and managing procurement criteria is conducted in three different processes:

  1. developing
  2. revising
  3. updating.

New developments entail work on new criteria fields. Active management is the term used to describe the line work that is conducted to ensure that the criteria are relevant and updated. This work includes business intelligence, communications, advisory services, support and following up on use. Active management can lead to decisions on revisions or updates.

The criteria are developed under an expert panel in collaboration with key stakeholders from both the public and private sectors, like buyers, suppliers, industry organisations, environmental organisations and government agencies. Whenever possible, the expert panel should develop requirements at three levels: basic, advanced and spearhead.

The Criteria process illustrated.

Last updated:

Related information